Skip To The Main Content
The trusted leader and voice for oral health care in Connecticut dedicated to the profession and the public

Connecticut State Dental Association

Legislative Initiatives

The 2019 Connecticut Legislative Session took place
January 9 through June 5.

CT Capitol Building Photos

Please click here to read the "Capitol Report" with the Highlights from the 2019 Legislative Session.

 




Does the Single-Use Plastic Bag Fee Affect My Office?

Effective August 1, 2019, retailers making sales in Connecticut of tangible personal property to the public are required to collect a 10 cent fee per single-use plastic checkout bag. “Single-use checkout bag” is defined as a plastic bag with a thickness of less than four mils and is provided by a store to a customer at the point of sale. “Store” is defined as any retailer, as defined in Conn.Gen.Stat 12-407, that maintains a retail store within the state and sells tangible personal property directly to the public. This definition includes any dental office with a sales tax permit.

For example, if a dental office is using a plastic bag to provide their patients with promotional materials or free items, such as a toothbrush and or floss, then the dental office is not required to collect a fee. If, however, a dental office has a sales tax permit and is selling items to their patients, such as an electronic toothbrush and uses a plastic bag with a thickness of less than four mils, to provide the product to the patient, then the dental office is required to collect a 10 cent fee and report that to the State.

For further information, please click here for more from the CT Department of Revenue Services Guidance Sheet Regarding the Single-Use Plastic Bag Fee. 

If you have additional questions regarding the plastic bag fee, please contact the CT Department of Revenue Services (DRS) directly. You can email DRS Legal Division at legal.division@po.state.ct.us or call DRS at (800) 382-9463.


Dental and Oral Health Related Bills that Died this Session

HB 5627 – An Act Extending the Period A Child, Stepchild or Other Dependent Child May Retain Dental Insurance Coverage Under A Parent’s Health Insurance Policy.

This bill would have required certain insurance policies that provide dental coverage to continue such coverage for a child, stepchild, or other dependent child until the policy anniversary date on or after the earlier of the child’s 26th birthday or the date the child obtains coverage through his or her own employment.

Status of the bill: Died in the House

HB 5654 -  An Act Allowing Dentists To Perform Certain Facial Therapies As Part of Their Dental Practice.

This bill would have allowed dentists to perform certain facial therapies, including, but not limited to, the administration of neurotoxins and dermal fillers, as part of their dental practice and to establish standards and training methods for the performance of such therapies.


Status of the bill: Died in the Public Health Committee

HB 5232 – An Act Concerning the Addition of Fluoride to Public Water Supplies.


This bill would have eliminated the requirement that fluoride be added to the public water supplies.

Status of the bill: Died in the Public Health Committee

HB 6541 – An Act Concerning Dental Therapists.

This bill would have permitted dental therapists to treat patients with limited access to oral health care.

Status of the bill: Died in the Public Health Committee


HB 6898 – An Act Concerning Mobile Dental Clinics.

This bill would have allowed mobile dental clinics to submit claims for services within a geographic area of fifty miles of the mobile dental clinic's fixed dental location.

Status of the bill: Died in the Public Health Committee


HB 7279 – An Act Allowing Dentists to Test of Diabetes.

This bill, introduced by the Public Health Committee, would have allowed dentists to administer a finger-stick diabetes test for patients who have risk factors for diabetes but have not been diagnosed.

Status of the bill: Died in the Public Health Committee
(Diabetes testing language was included in HB 7303 that passed in the House and Senate).


HB 7281 – An Act Concerning the Practice of Dental Therapy By Licensed Dental Hygienists.

This bill would have allowed dental hygienists to become certified in dental therapy and engage in the practice of dental therapy for the purpose of increasing access to dental care.

Status of the bill: Died in the Public Health Committee
(Dental therapy language was included in SB 807 that passed in the House and Senate).


Sign Up Now for CSDA Legislative Text Alerts. 

Your voice can make a difference!

Complete the form below and you will receive text alerts when legislative action is needed.
It's a quick and easy way to keep informed, take action and contact your legislators. 









Legislative Key-Contact Program

WE NEED YOU! The CSDA Dentist-Legislator Key Contact Program matches up a constituent dentist with his/her state senator and/or state representative. This program has been nothing short of crucial to ensuring legislative success on behalf of our profession, our patients and our practices! Learn more about the Key Contact Program.

Other Ways to Get Involved

Contact: Kristina Diamond, Director of Government Relations and Policy at kdiamond@csda.com / 860.378.1800

CODPAC Logo

To view both state and federal regulations, click here

Twitter_Logo_Blue
Follow us on Twitter for timely updates on legislative happenings: @CTToothParty